News & Commentary

2018 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award winners announced

| |

The winners of the annual Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards, one of the richest awards in the performing arts in Australia, were announced at the Adelaide Festival on Monday.

This year’s judges were Christie Anthoney, Fraser Corfield, Iain Graindage, Fiona Maxwell and Brian Ritchie. The Committee is Chaired by Carrillo Gantner AC (Chairman, Sidney Myer Fund) who does not vote. The Judging Committee recognises past achievements but also gives consideration to the potential of an individual or group to continue their contribution to Australian society through the performing arts.

This year’s recipients are:

Group Award ($90,000): Bleach Festival (Queensland)
Individual Award ($60,000): Genevieve Lacy (Victoria)
Facilitator’s Prize ($25,000): Annette Downs (Tasmania)

The awards were established in 1984 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the death of Sidney Myer.

More information on the awards can be found at the Sidney Myer Fund & The Myer Foundation website.

One response to “2018 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award winners announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *